Tags

, , , , ,

Nathan Keffer and the FAST volunteers that I met during their FAST appreciation get-together. There are about 50 FAST volunteers in total.

Starting the enterprise story was a little daunting at first. I didn’t know what I could do in the Trainsong neighborhood that hadn’t already been done and that would show a little more about the happenings in the neighborhood itself. At one point, for one of our neighborhood assignments where we asked what people liked and didn’t like about the Trainsong neighborhood, we interviewed the Youth Services Coordinator at the Oregon Pacific Chapter (OPC) of the Red Cross, which is located off of Bethel drive.

Nathan Keffer, the Youth Services Coordinator, was really friendly and helpful so when I was thinking of enterprise stories I thought of him and the Red Cross’ interaction with the local community. I did a little bit of background researching on the programs that the Red Cross has in the community, mainly focusing on the youth services programs, and I decided that focusing on those programs could turn into a really interesting enterprise story.

So far I’ve interviewed Keffer and I’ve met up with some of the youth that are in the First Aid Service Team (FAST) program that they have at the OPC center. Keffer held a small party for the youth and adult volunteers of FAST for FAST appreciation month, which he just created. They had snacks, made small-talk and watched the Bourne Identity. I spent about 45 minutes with them chatting, asking them questions and just getting to know them and why there are involved with FAST.

I’ve made plans with Keffer to follow FAST from the Red Cross to Autzen Stadium for the next home Duck game (against Arizona). The FAST group have about six first-aid stations around the stadium during the game. I can’t stay on while they are actually taking first-aid patients during the game, but as long as I get permission from the University of Oregon I’m good to document them getting set up in Autzen. It will be interesting to follow their procedure for setting up first-aid tents  and see how they prepare themselves.

Hopefully this will all turn out to be one amazing enterprise story with a nice multimedia piece to supplement it. It’s not an earth-shattering story, but I think it’s good to share. These youth volunteers in FAST go through paramedic-worthy training to be able to do what they are doing. It’s pretty amazing to listen to them talk about their experiences and what they have done for people, and most of them are in high school.